Welcome

As part of My Year in Review and Goal Setting for 2015, I resolved to start a weekly summary of what my week has brought as far as learning goes.  Technical issues aside, I have missed the first week of January, but here is the first post in my Across My Desk blog.

The purpose of this blog is to share experiences and resources on a range of topics that interest me such as e-Learning, instructional design, leadership, collaboration, innovation, technology and knowledge management.

So, getting back to the technical issues, I decided to use diigo to generate the basis for each of these weekly posts.  diigo is a free social bookmarking tool and you can set up diigo to automatically add your bookmarks to a blog post of your choosing at daily or weekly intervals.

The definition of social bookmarking according to Wikipedia is:

“A social bookmarking service is a centralized online service which enables users to add, annotate, edit, and share bookmarks of web documents.[1] Many online bookmark management services have launched since 1996; Delicious, founded in 2003, popularized the terms “social bookmarking” and “tagging“. Tagging is a significant feature of social bookmarking systems, enabling users to organize their bookmarks in flexible ways and develop shared vocabularies known as folksonomies.”

-Wikipedia

Whilst I have briefly explored social bookmarking in a haphazard way, I’m now reading this article “How to get started with social bookmarking” to find out what’s it’s really all about.  Of course Common Craft have a “Social Bookmarking in Plain English” overview video: https://www.commoncraft.com/video/social-bookmarking.

The learning curve to set up  diigo for auto posting to blog has been larger than I had anticipated for. Interestingly, the “free” part of this tool does not allow for this, although this was not at all obvious initially as the setup allowed me to configure this almost all the way through.  Anyway, now that I’ve upgraded my account and have this sorted, I’ve started at looking at how best to use diigo.

There is a lot more you can do with diigo apart from just bookmarking – and I’m about to explore this in more depth.  If you’ve never used diigo and would like to find out more, this video is a good start.

 

My first auto-generated diigo-bookmarked blog post of my weekly learnings is due out tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

